Our faculty are internationally recognized, hold PhDs in fields across the sciences, and collaborate to team-teach in innovative 16-credit science programs and 4-credit courses. Many of our faculty conduct research in science or science education. Collectively, our faculty have been awarded millions of dollars in external funding to support science teaching and learning at Evergreen.

Paula Schofield and students discuss their lab results

Integrated Biology & Chemistry

Dharshi Bopegedera, Ph.D. Physical Chemistry

Andrew Brabban, Ph.D. Genetics and Microbiology

Clarissa Dirks, Ph.D. Molecular and Cellular Biology

Amanda Kugel, D.C. Chiropracty

Lydia McKinstry, Ph.D. Organic Chemistry

Nancy Murray, Ph.D. Neurobiology and Behavior

Michael Paros, D.V.M. Veterinary Medicine

Carolyn Prouty, D.V.M. Veterinary Medicine

Paula Schofield, Ph.D. Polymer Chemistry

Rebecca Sunderman, Ph.D. Inorganic/Physical Chemistry

Gerardo Chin-Leo working with students while in the boat

Environmental SCIENCE/Studies

Frederica Bowcutt, Ph.D. Ecology 

Lalita Calabria, Ph.D. Plant Biology

Gerardo Chin-Leo, Ph.D. Biological Oceanography

Amy Cook, Ph.D. Biological Sciences (Ichthyology)

Marja Eloheimo, Ph.D. Environmental Anthropology

Dylan Fischer, Ph.D. Forest Science

Shangrila Joshi, Ph.D. Environmental Science, Studies, and Policy 

Carri LeRoy, Ph.D. Biology (Freshwater Ecology

Paul Przybylowicz, Ph.D. Plant Pathology (Mycology)

Steve Scheuerell, Ph.D. Botany and Plant Pathology

Alison Styring, Ph.D. Biological Sciences (Ornithology)

Erik Thuesen, Ph.D. Biology (Zoology)

Pauline Yu, Ph.D. Biological Sciences (Marine Science)

Krishna Chowdary and Rachel Hastings work together at the whiteboard

Math, Physical and Computer Sciences

Abir Biswas, Ph.D. Geology

John Caraher, Ph.D. Physics

Arun Chandra, D.M.A. Composition

Krishna Chowdary, Ph.D. Physics

Vauhn Foster-Grahler, M.S. Mathematics; M.Ed. Biomechanics

Rachel Hastings, Ph.D. Applied Mathematics, Ph.D. Linguistics

David McAvity, Ph.D. Mathematics

Richard Weiss, Ph.D. Mathematics (with expertise in Computer Science)

Students at the Organic Farm care for seedlings

Food and Agriculture

Melissa Nivala, Ph.D. Applied Mathematics

Steve Scheuerell, Ph.D. Botany and Plant Pathology

Michael Paros, D.V.M. Veterinary Medicine

Students in the Masters of Environmental Studies taking measurements at the beach.

Graduate Program on the Environment

Learn about our Master of Environmental Studies (MES) Faculty

Carri LeRoy, Ph.D. Biological Science (MES Director)

Kevin Francis, Ph.D. History of Science and Technology

Shangrila Joshi, Ph.D. Environmental Science, Studies, and Policy

John Kirkpatrick, Ph.D. Chemical Oceanography

Erin Martin, Ph.D. Oceanography

John Withey, Ph.D. Forest Resources 

EMeritus faculty in STEM

Michael Beug, Ph.D. (1972-2001)

Paul Butler, Ph.D. (1986-2010)

Rob Cole, Ph.D. (1979-2012)

John Cushing, Ph.D. (1985-2007)

Judy Cushing, Ph.D. (1982-2014)

Larry Eickstaedt, Ph.D. (1970-1996)

Burt Guttman, Ph.D. (1972-2002)

Martha Henderson, Ph.D. (1995-2017)

Linda Kahan, Ph.D. (1971-2001)

Jeffrey Kelly, Ph.D. (1972-2008)

Rob Knapp, Ph.D. (1972-2012)

Elizabeth Kutter, Ph.D. (1972-2007)

Don Middendorf, Ph.D.

David Milne, Ph.D. (1971-2002)

Nalini Nadkarni, Ph.D. (1991-2011)

James Neitzel, Ph.D. (1989-2017)

Oscar Soule, Ph.D. (1971-2004)

James Stroh, Ph.D. (1975-2007)

E.J. Zita, Ph.D. (1995-2020)

Donald Morisato, Ph.D. (2023)

David Meuhleisen, Ph.D. (2023)

Martha Rosemeyer, Ph.D. (2023)

Kenneth Tabbutt, Ph.D. (1993-2024)

Betty Kutter talking with a student.
Nalini Nadkarni using ropes to climb at tall Douglas Fir.
Clyde Barlow and students analyzing data in the lab.

IN MEMORIAM - faculty in STEM

Clyde Barlow, Ph.D., (1981-2016), deceased 2021

Carolyn Dobbs, Ph.D. (1971-2007), deceased 2014

Betty Ruth Estes, Ph.D. (1971-1998), deceased 2021

Steven Herman, Ph.D. (1971-2005), deceased 2020

Kaye V. Ladd, Ph.D. (1975-1996), deceased 2016

Cheri Lucas-Jennings, Ph.D. (1999-2016), deceased 2020

Willie Parson, Ph.D. (1971-2005), deceased 2012

Niels Skov, Ph.D. (1972-1992), deceased 2014

Bob Sluss, Ph.D. (1970-1991), deceased 2009

Frederick Tabbutt, Ph.D. (1970-1998), deceased 2016

Alfred Wiedemann, Ph.D. (1970-1998), deceased 2010

Byron Youtz, Ph.D. (1970-1991), deceased 1992